Wednesday, March 28, 2007

Malaysian Currency

Before one embarks on visiting a country, one would be wise to find out more about it and the one thing that tops the list would be the country's currency. The Malaysian currency is called Ringgit Malaysia (RM). The currency’s RM3.80 peg against the U.S. dollar imposed on Sept 1, 1998 was lifted on July 21, 2005. One ringgit comprises 100 sen. The exchange currently is around the region of RM3.48 to one U.S. dollar.

The currency comes in the form of both notes and coins. Ringgit banknotes are issued in the following denominations RM1, RM2, RM5, RM10, RM50 and RM100 while coins are issued in one sen, five sen, 10 sen, 20 sen, 50 sen and RM1 denominations.

For more info, visit Currency.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...